05/15/14 #BLACKandSTEM

I try to peruse the #BLACKandSTEM set for the latest news and important topics.  It’s how I stay on top of the “what’s what” and “who’s who” amongst us.  I often try to keep an eye out for what might be a good topic for the Thursday chats – the news has been pretty stressful (with topics such as the kidnapping of the Nigerian girls), a lot of people have been finishing out semesters (taking exams or grading), quite a few people are writing papers or working on dissertations, and I’ve peeped a few allnighters spend coding or analyzing data.  I see med school students running around behind their attendings and volunteering their services for those less fortunate.

I took a step back and realized that, yes, we can talk about all the individual situations and circumstances that we find ourselves in as #BLACKandSTEM.  But we should also talk about how we keep our heads and take care of ourselves in the process.  Especially considering the perceived rules within the Black community for how we deal with mental issues.

At times, I feel as if I have more on my plate than I can handle.  Or there are one or two things going on that are tough to manage.  Sometimes I tweet about some of it.  However, I have tons of stuff going on that I choose not to tweet about, so it is not a stretch for me to imagine that the rest of #BLACKandSTEM is in the same boat of needing to stop and make sure we are devoting time to our mental health.

I hope to start helpful and encouraging exchange with today’s question:  Have you ever used therapy?  Feel free to share (if you feel comfortable) about what prompted you to start utilizing therapy.

Don’t forget to use the #BLACKandSTEM hashtag in your responses.  We can’t keep up with each other’s responses without the hashtag!

Click here for storify.

Leave a Reply

